Scientific Advisory Board (SAB)

Five scientists, recognized as experts in the disciplines of fisheries biology, fluvial geomorphology, hydraulic engineering, hydrology, riparian ecology, wildlife biology, or aquatic ecology, form a Scientific Advisory Board (SAB). Each member is appointed by the Executive Director and serves a four-year rotating term. [2022: the SAB currently has less than 5 members pending completion of new program organization documents.]

Members of the SAB provide scientific peer review of proposed hypotheses associated with monitoring and restoration management approaches, proposed annual flow schedules, short- and long-term monitoring and investigation plans developed by technical work groups, technical recommendations, and research reports.

John Buffington, Ph.D., USDA Forest Service;

John Buffington (Ph.D. Geological Sciences) is a Research Geomorphologist with the U.S. Forest Service, Rocky Mountain Research Station.  His research focuses on fluvial geomorphology of mountain basins, biophysical interactions, and the effects of natural and anthropogenic disturbances on salmonid habitat.


Andrew J. Paul, Ph.D., Alberta Environment and Parks;

Andrew Paul (Ph.D. Population Ecologist) is the Provincial Environmental Flow Specialist for Fish and Wildlife Habitat Policy with the Alberta Government.